{AOPi’s WKU’s Got Talent} March 2015.

This year, I promised myself that I’d work hard – harder than I’ve ever worked. I promised myself that I would begin to document the things that happen around me. This was the reason I got into this business, right? When I started by photographing my younger siblings, I ALWAYS had a camera on my side. You almost never saw me without one. As I got busier, I got burnt out. I almost quit. There were days I was *this* close to hanging up my camera strap for good. Then, I realized how dumb that was. I realized how much work I had put into this business and how many people had my back. That’s when I realized I needed to get back to my roots. I hustled, and I got completely caught up. I cut my return time nearly in half, and I began to feel like I wasn’t drowning in Photoshop anymore. I began to photograph the things around me again, and I’ve fell in love with my clients and the power of a picture all over again.

This event was one of the first sets of portraits that I shot once I made this decision to start carrying my camera again. The Alpha Chi chapter of Alpha Omicron Pi hosts this talent show annually in memory of their sister Landon Lovett. There were twelve participants from Western Kentucky University’s campus, and I enjoyed photographing their various talents. All proceeds from the event went to the Lovett family’s charity of choice. I started this business with a special love for photographing sporting events and movement. Enjoy the photos below, and feel free to share with your friends!

_MG_7791_MG_7793 _MG_7815e _MG_7837 _MG_7859 _MG_7860 _MG_7877 _MG_7887 _MG_7919 _MG_7925e _MG_7941e _MG_7969e _MG_7975 _MG_7988 _MG_7993 _MG_8005 _MG_8041 _MG_8050 _MG_8067e _MG_8072e _MG_8074 _MG_8077  _MG_8104 _MG_8111 _MG_8148 _MG_8157 _MG_8168 _MG_8175e _MG_8201 _MG_8213 _MG_8218e _MG_8225-copy _MG_8228 _MG_8231e _MG_8259

Congratulations to all of the winners, and thank you for letting me photograph you!

-Ally of {ally}ography.

Leave a Reply

